Biggest Litter to Date!

20151022_22360620151030_150855There’s never a break from homeless animals, as is evident with my newest batch of kittens. These kittens are on quarantine for Distemper, a fatal and contagious disease among cats. The shelter had two options because they could not risk Distemper infecting all the un-vaccinated cats they get in; either euthanize all the possible distemper kittens, or find an appropriate foster home to quarantine them in. I chose the latter, obviously, as I couldn’t let the former action take place when I had a (somewhat!) empty home.

20151030_15245520151030_150736

So meet the new batch of fosters! I don’t have names for them yet. The two white with flame points are very similar looking (I can only tell them apart because one has very crossed eyes!) and are both males. The orange boy is extremely affectionate and playful. And of course, my little runt of the litter, the dilute tortoiseshell. She is just as affectionate as her bigger brothers, but she’s a little bit shyer than her siblings. It’s an odd shift, going from single, special needs kittens to a large batch of healthy (besides URI, or course), active kittens. It’s a change I’ll have to get used to in the coming weeks while they nap and play in comfy quarantine.

Anyone have any name ideas for these guys?

Leave a comment