Simba Was Adopted!

Snapchat-20140923021452I brought Simba to the shelter with the plan of taking him back when I left, and only keeping him in a cage at the shelter when I worked. Apparently, I found out I could do that. Just bring my fosters in every day I work and take them home when I’m ready to leave. Not sure how that will work for my two adult fosters, Bella and Cassie.

To stay on subject; Simba was adopted before I was even able to go to lunch! It was bitter sweet. A part of me wanted to keep him desperately because  I believed I was the best owner he was going to get, and anyone else might neglect him or simply not be up to my standards. Yet in reality I was being a hypocrite; I did not have the time for a kitten. I work long hours, come home to do ‘homework’, then I’m left with very little time to do what other shit needs to get done. In the end it was for the best, but damn do I miss him. I wasn’t around to say goodbye to him, so I can only hope he went to a good home (which I’m sure he did!).

In other news, I haven’t heard a sneeze out of Bella or Cassie in days, and Bella finished her round of medications. It’s amazing how much weight they are visibly putting on; when they got here, (on a 1-7 feline body condition score) Cassie was about a 2-3 on the scale, with visible  waist behind ribs, ribs felt with every pets, and her spine and bones by the tail easily palpable. Bella was doing a bit better, I could still see a visible waist and feel her spine, but her ribs were less palpable and I couldn’t feel her wings of ilia with every pat. Now I can barely feel their spines, and their waists are getting much better. I’d place Cassie at thin (3) and Bella at  underweight (4), granted I didn’t give them a full look over and I’m not a vet or vet tech, so it’s a rather uneducated opinion. I can say with certainty though, that they are definitely getting better. It’s amazing what a little TLC can do for these cats. I’ve just about created fucking miracles just be locking cats in a bathroom with food and water.

Leave a comment