Some bad news and some worse news

He has quite the beer belly

He has quite the beer belly

 

Meet Niles, an already altered, older cat that came to us with a slight URI. We had no more room for sick cats, so I decided to foster him until he was cleared by a vet.

Niles has extra toes!

 

Niles is quite the talker! I call him my little heart breaker because he howls every time I have to leave him in the room. He also talks back to me in his old cat meow. He is pretty heavy, weighing in at 11 pounds, but still thinks he is the kind of kitty that I can pick up and carry around – which I usually do despite the aching arm afterwards. He eats like a hound and sleeps like one, too. Our nights generally include him sleeping on my belly or the crook of my arm while I read or write. He can not get enough attention, which is why I brought him back to the shelter yesterday. I felt awful for him because I really can not spend enough time with him, maybe an hour a night if I’m lucky. However it seems like he may stay at the shelter longer than I hoped due to the vet staff being overwhelmed with surgeries; They will get to them as soon as possible though.

Snapchat--4899282952151957378Speaking about staying at the shelter, Noel was unfortunately returned. It’s a shame because of his issues with new environments, this is an awful lot of stress on him. He didn’t get along with other animals (cats and dogs), which is good information for any future potential adopter. Because of his severe over-stimulation of new environments, I decided that more in depth adoption counseling will be required for Noel, so I added a little snippet about his issues and asked for him to go home as an only cat with no kids or older kids. Here’s hoping his new home will be the perfect one.